I’m Creating a Udemy Course on Graphic Design in 28 Days — Week 1 Progress

Kindra Ting
2 min readFeb 6, 2022

--

Prefer to watch the vlog instead? Click here!

Hey there! It’s Kindra. For this month of July, I have decided to create a Udemy course about building your foundation and career in graphic design. This is my week one documentation.

For this week, I focused mainly on finding a project that makes me dig deeper into anything video-related and I also want to give back to the design community. Join me in my process of how I settled into the idea of creating a Udemy course about graphic design!

The Project Idea
I had three project ideas in mind. One was creating my own Shopify business of selling my art on merchandise like t-shirts and prints. The second one was creating video and social media marketing campaigns for Praxis by revamping their merchandise and their product landing page. The third idea was to create a Udemy course about graphic design and building a community of students on Facebook or Slack.

I loved the third idea the most. The idea of sharing my learnings and creating value for other people is everything I want this project to be. I’m sticking with that for this month!

I then created a course outline for every topic I want to discuss. This gives me organization and makes me have clearer goals. You can view the initial course outline here.

Organizing My Work
Aside from the course outline, I also set up a project management system using Notion. Aside from completing my project, I plan on creating a blog post, YouTube vlog, and Instagram post of all my progress building this course. In order to get things done, I know I have to be clear on my goals. I organized everything weekly and set actionable goals for each. You can view my project management system here.

What I Should’ve Done Differently
I really wish that I would have started working on my deliverables early to avoid cramming on the seventh day of the week. Honestly, I felt so chill during the first days of the week. I hung out with friends a lot and procrastinated doing my work. I have a goal of uploading a YouTube video of my weekly updates, but I don’t think time will permit me to prioritize that before my week two goals. For the following weeks, I will be more responsible and do things on or ahead of schedule.

Those are all the updates for the first week! Have a jumpstart of how my week two went here.

--

--