I’m Creating a Udemy Course on Graphic Design in 28 Days — Week 2 Progress

Kindra Ting
3 min readFeb 6, 2022

--

Prefer to watch the vlog instead? Click here!

Hey there, It’s Kindra! This post is part of a four-week series of blog post updates about a Udemy course I’m creating called “Building your Foundation and Career in Graphic Design”. This is my week two documentation.

If you’re interested to know more about why and how I came up with this project, read it here.

What I accomplished this week

  • I set up my webcam on Streamlabs OBS! This part of my project felt really good to do. I bought a $20 Aukey webcam instead of one of the hundred-dollar ones. With research, I was able to be smart with my budget while still having good quality 1080p resolution videos.
  • I created fun Photoshop projects to teach! I don’t want to just explain the terms on my course. I also want to make the lessons engaging for my students. So, I made fun projects for each lesson on the Photoshop part of my course. Check this sample project I made!

How I felt this week

I encountered so many problems with time management and getting work done this week. I felt so exhausted and sick. It’s so frustrating because it’s already the second week, and I’m still working on things that I should’ve done last week. However, that won’t stop me from finishing this project this month!

I believe the best way to get back up from a slump is to listen to what your body needs and build better habits. So, I thought of three ways to go on from there.

The first one is prioritizing rest. Most of the time, especially when you have a lot to do, it feels wrong to rest. However, based on my experience, the more I rest, the more energy I have to get work done. So, I took the time to listen to my body and took a long nap.

The second one is building a system. As soon as I woke up from my long nap, I went on to my computer to fix my calendar. I blocked out time to work on this project and other important stuff like workouts, meetings, and hospital appointments. Here’s a sample of my calendar:

Lastly, having a mindset shift. I think one of the reasons people fail with reaching their goals is because they’re doing it for the wrong reasons. I was too stressed out on finishing my project instead of focusing on why I’m doing this project. My mindset now is “I’m doing this project because I genuinely want to share my knowledge and I want to provide value to other people.

Now that I’m back on track, it’s time to move forward!

Course Updates

Having fourteen days left to complete my project, I knew I needed to be realistic. I’m adjusting my course outline to only teaching design basics, Photoshop essentials, building portfolios, and growing your network this month. I believe squeezing in teaching Adobe Illustrator and InDesign will just make me release low-quality work. So, I will give my all to teaching Adobe Photoshop and building your career in graphic design. I will still be uploading the rest of the Illustrator and InDesign lessons after this month!

Looking ahead

My lessons and equipment are now ready. It’s time to film! Read about my week three update here.

--

--