My Grandfather’s Letters — March 17, 1939 Chicago 38 of 46

Kristen Lodge
2 min readApr 29, 2024

--

Letter Postmarked: Mar 17, 1939
Hotel Chicagoan
67 West Madison Street Chicago Illinois
To: Mrs Betty Fritzson 6034 Walton St. Philadelphia, Penna

Thursday

My Dear Wifey:

We arrived in Eaglewood about 4:30 P and immediately went to the Supply Manufacturers Show. After that we went to the Chicago Club to consummate old fashions & afterwards to the “gay 90’s” for dinner and more beverages. While at the Chicago Club & while everyone was high Mr. Barriger suggested that I make a trip to Mexico to report on the state of the bull fights (one of Mr. Barrigers hobbys). Consequently, I am leaving in the morning for El Paso, Texas thence to Juarez, Mexico to view my first bull fight. It should be very interesting and I am looking forward with great pleasure to seeing my first bull fight.

I am sorry I won’t be seeing you this week-end. I expect to be back in Washington Wednesday morning & if nothing else comes up I should be home to the following weekend.

I’ll write as often as I can on my new trip. Thinking of you as always.

Your lovey dovey,

Hubby

Letter 39
Letter 37

--

--

Kristen Lodge

I am a writer, mountain dweller, traveler, runner, cyclist and dog lover.