Pennsylvania Railroad Oct 2, 1938 Grandfather Letters 2 of 46 Minneapolis

Kristen Lodge
4 min readMar 19, 2024

--

Letter Postmarked: Oct 2, 1938
From: the Sheridan Hotel, Marquette at Eleventh, Minneapolis.
To: Miss Betty Hodgson 6034 Walton St. Phila, Pa
Oct 2

Dear Betty:
I just moved into a room with bath so I feel much better. This town was so damned crowded over the week-end because of the football game that it was impossible to get a room in any hotel in town on Friday night.

Minnesota played Nebraska and won 16–7. I saw the game free as one of the receivers of the railroad which we are studying gave out free passes to the boys. It was a wonderful game but it was so one sided it is impossible to believe it after reading the score. Nebraska scored its touchdown on a stolen ball followed by a 95 yr. run. Minnesota is the most perfect football team I ever saw. It is a team of blond giants who block perfectly. Minnesota could have scored 50 points if it wasn’t for a few fumbles & stolen balls. The man who gave us the tickets probably expects to get a break from the RFC when his loan is considered but I doubt it the free tickets will help him any. All the tickets cost $2.75 — none cheaper or none more expensive — so I figure I didn’t do so badly.

Saturday night I went to the movies and saw “Boys Town”. I thought it was a wonderful show & if you haven’t already seen it don’t fail to do so. There is one movie in town that charges 40 [cents], all the rest charge 25 or 10. All movies except the 40 cents have double features. As a matter of fact this is the most inexpensive town I have ever lived in. Two movies in town last night showed 2 feature pictures, comedies, news reels, etc., plus a stage show for 10 [cents] — and that was the evening price, too. I have been getting good dinners in the hotel for 60 [cents]. I eat all my breakfasts in the hotel restaurant for 25. A restaurant in the cheaper section of town advertises full 7 course dinners for 15 cents but I haven’t gotten to the point of trying it yet.

Today two of the boys and I took a ride over to the St. Paul to look over the town. St. Paul is a dirty old town but since it is the capital of Minnesota I was anxious to see it.

I have been going around all the time with 2 of the fellows in the outfit. One, Walter Wright, the financial expert, is about my age or slightly older. The other, Frank Koening, is 40 & is our draftsman. Walter Wright is very much in love & is constantly being taken for a ride by everybody. He is a brilliant fellow but is stone deaf in one ear & is greatly handicapped. His home is just outside of Washington & his fiancé lives in Chicago so he very seldom sees either. Frank Koening is a bachelor & doesn’t seem to have much interest in girls but he is pretty good at bending elbows. We were out Friday night & had a few beers. Frank is a very interesting talker because all that he has been doing for the past 3 years is traveling all over the U.S. It seems that anyone who has traveled extensively can always be relied upon to be interesting.

The people in this part of the country are mostly Swedes & they draw to exceedingly large proportions. I feel like a shrimp when I’m around a crowd of native sons. The Swedes around here certainly hate the Norwegians. Even the high school kids around here are big. I looked over some of the high school football line — ups & the kids all seemed to weigh around the 200 mark.

Sometimes I feel rather lonesome or probably homesick is a better word. The fact that my job is so interesting compensates for some of the longing for home. I felt especially bad last night because I couldn’t go to some swanky club as I am in the habit of doing in Phila. On a Saturday night — you know, some place like Bell’s Corner or the Covered Wagon. Anyway, the prospects of getting home often look pretty good. The outfit worked in Washington around Thanksgiving last year & they always manage to cook up a job in Washington over the Christmas holidays.
My work is very pleasant because everyone is his own boss. My particular job right now is to make a traffic study of the M & St. L [Minneapolis & St Louis Railroad]. I expect to be kept busy on this for the next 2 or 3 weeks.

Mr. Barriger has given me a lot of literature to read. He recommended a book that I should buy & spend 2 or 3 hours a night studying it. The book cost $10 new so I am going to try & pick up a used copy. If you are ever near Leary’s I wish you would stop in & price a second hand edition. I don’t want you to buy it but just let me know how much it is. The book is, “Financial Policy of Corps” by A. S. Dewing.

We are expecting our engineer this evening & I am expected down in the lobby to meet him so I must bring this manuscript to an end.
I haven’t received a letter from you yet & this is my second to you so you better hurry & answer me. Let me know how everyone is doing.
With all my love,
Fritz

Read Letter 1
Read Letter 3

--

--

Kristen Lodge

I am a writer, mountain dweller, traveler, runner, cyclist and dog lover.