DAY 18: It’s great to sell but even better to create: Lindsey’s story

Kyle L B Morey
4 min readFeb 23, 2019

--

“It’s great to sell mattresses and furniture to your prospects,” writes my millionaire mentor Larry Kozin in a group message to NEMG leaders on Facebook, “but it is even better to create lifelong business partnerships.”

True wisdom from a man wisened by experience.

Larry then invites us to share a story of a customer who became something more than a sale, something meaningful and whole. Here is Lindsey’s story.

Help you help me help you

Okay, I am not in the bathroom begging a football player in his birthday suit to help me help him. But today I help someone help me so that I could, in turn, help her.

An alert from Facebook pops up on my phone. Someone’s interested in my garage full of mattresses. “This is probably a very long shot,” the message begins, “but I saw your post about the mattresses and thought I would at least reach out.”

I check who the message is from. Someone named Lindsey. I continue reading, intrigued by her intro. “My fiance and I are in need of a queen size mattress. I’m not looking for pity but I figured I would explain the situation and see if there is anything we could do or work out.”

Lindsey then lays bare her life’s plight–a recent fight for her very life. “I was diagnosed with a rare neurological autoimmune disease,” she messages. “And to make a long story short, we pretty much lost everything and I can no longer work to help pay our bills.”

Craiglist scams come to mind as I read, but something seems different. Something seems sincere–I find myself swallowed up in Lindsey’s story.

“My fiance, however, works very hard to try to support us,” Lindsey continues, “and we ended up having to temporarily rent a room from someone because that’s all we could afford. We are currently on a mattress that is too small for both of us (being he is 6’4). I feel bad that he is not even able to get a good night’s sleep but right now we just can not afford to buy a bed.”

Help people help themselves

Okay, I’m hooked. “Lindsey, my heart goes out to you and your fiance; I pray for both of you at this messy time. I’d like to help.”

I continue, concerned by how she will respond to my idea of offering help. “How would you like to work off the price of a very comfortable mattress? I need a virtual assistant–someone who can from home help coordinate ads on social media (like the one you responded to). I’d pay 10% on any and all mattresses and furniture we sell.”

A few minutes go by as I stare at the screen awaiting her reply. Did I offend her? Should I have just given her the bed?

BLING. A message alert. Lindsey writes, “I’m in! That would be amazing! And I can definitely handle doing ads for you.” What she writes next makes me smile as wide as the Nile: “Thank you so much for the opportunity. I really appreciate it, not to mention it will give me a little something to do to feel useful again.”

Where welfare weighs in

Charity is good. Even Christian-centered. But I love the idea of helping others help themselves. My Church defines such principles of welfare in this way: “To help others become self-reliant, to care for the poor and needy, and to give service.”

Lindsey, like most of us, craves this godly sensation of self-reliance–the ability to care for one’s own needs and then be in a place to help with the needs of others. In her current station in life, Lindsey needs immediate help, the kind of help she can’t do for herself. That’s where others come in.

Doing our best to practice this principle, we invite Lindsey and her fiance over to our showcase home, advance them the mattress, and gratefully accept her finance’s help in a few maintenance issues around the house. Perhaps just as importantly, we find a way for her to pay it back; and eventually, pay it forward. At any rate, she seems happy to be able to help in a way that she can, and we are happy to have both her help and friendship!

Today’s impressions

Yes, a mattress was sold. A customer was gained. But, Larry’s principle of partnering over selling played out beautifully as a new friendship was found and a partnership in bloom.

Perhaps that’s what business is really about: People. Helping People. Helping People. All are served. All serve.

Sometimes life is messy. But it is often in the mess that men and women find life’s meaning.

I am inspired by the likes of Lindsey who–like most of us at some point in life–need help beyond our ability but accept opportunities to serve it back, and then serve it forward when able. Perhaps finding financial freedom in furniture is really about helping others help themselves and in turn, being helped along the way.

Sounds a little like the currency of heaven, if you ask me.

<< DAY 17 ~ DAY 19 >>

--

--

Kyle L B Morey

Howdy! I’m a husband to a redhead, a father to the fantastic five, and a son of a loving Father in heaven. I’m also the author of #1 Bestseller, Ask God.