DAY 19: Five fabulous ways to bring happiness to Facebook Marketplace

Kyle L B Morey
4 min readFeb 23, 2019

--

Perhaps one of the more frustrating things in finding freedom in the furniture business is the no-show. Folks who commit on Facebook Marketplace to coming and seeing your product, but never quite make it. A second runner-up would be show-ups, but got to speak to my spouse then never get back with you and never return your message. But then still, there is the grump on Facebook who, no matter what you do, seems to find problems with you, with the world, with life.

Nineteen days into this adventure and I have experienced all three. Multiple times. What’s worse is when such a someone is coming from one of your furniture brokers (FB) or virtual assistants–those who you pay to help broker your products. You want to honor those and pay the FB ASAP. But you can’t if their potential buyer doesn’t show, or shows and doesn’t buy, or simply is unhappy with life. So it is with the business we are venturing in to.

Just today, an in-home caretaker, Tanya showed up and spent a good thirty minutes trying out our beds and talking about how excited she was to buy one. She wanted a Queen mattress. She tried one in plush. Then one in pillow top. After trying the most expensive one we carried, she fell in love with it. But not the price.

“I will discuss it with my husband and get back to you,” Tanya said.

She never did.

But …

Another potential buyer and attorney Andrea–who was a no-show last week–got back in touch with me today, set an appointment for after work, showed up this time, and purchased a mid-level queen and box foundation. She even paid for the delivery charge. On her note with the check sent to us in the mail, Andrea said:

“It’s been a true pleasure doing business with you. I am so happy!”

You just never know.

The trick, I found, is to treat all with kindness and to see all as future buyers, furniture brokers, partners and, well, happy people. Treat others as you would have them treat you! Sounds Biblical, or something.

Kyle’s five fabulous ways to find happy shoppers on Facebook

Here are the five fabulous things I like to do to add a little something by way of kindness to all I work with or sell to:

1. Smile online

This seems simple. And unneeded. But it is needed. And more of it. Too often online I see unfriendly and unsmiling faces looking back at me. Sometimes with a middle finger included. So, brighten up your social media pics of you or your kids with smiles.

2. Be genuine, be true

I like to tell people how it is but in the kindest, most honest way possible. People can see through the half lies. Don’t sell to people. Help people get what they want. And you will get what you want. Eventually.

3. Surprise with cheerfulness

The moment a potential buyer messages me on Facebook Marketplace, Craigslist, or some other social app, I let them know how thankful I am for contacting me. My gratitude is genuine. I often say something like, “Hi, Jane, happy Monday and thanks for messaging me! What can I help you with today?”

The “Happy Monday” or Happy Weekend” comment goes a long way. It surprises people who often return the salutation.

4. Be kind to naysayers

Often, a naysayer or competitor gets online and tries to bash me. Kill them with kindness. Agree with them immediately and thank them for messaging or giving you such “sound advice.” Just as it takes two to tangle, it takes two to argue. So, don’t even start. It’s not worth it. Smile and move on, after being kind to the unkind.

5. Follow up with flare

Okay, so I sold a mattress or piece of furniture. Deal done, right? No! Follow up with flare. See how the buyer likes it. Send them a note of gratitude. Wow them with how wonderful they are for having done business with you!

We are on a tight budget. Thus, I rally the kids to the garage, arm them with colorful sharpies, and invite them to be creative with saying THANK YOU right on the plastic or package of the product or bed. A buyer could get a mattress with several smiley faces and happy people saying “hi” on their mattress wrap.

Then, my five-year-old and I take a moment to say thank you by way of video. It takes us less than three minutes and we typically do it right before my little tot goes to bed. She says the darndest things, but I send the video via Facebook Messenger or text anyway. It seems to always put a smile on the face of the buyer.

Happy day!

So, there you have it. Five fabulous ways you can help buyers be happy on Facebook Marketplace. Smile. Be true. Be cheerful. Be kind. And follow up with flare! If you want to find happy people on Facebook, then, be happy yourself! You never know whose day you just might make awesome and wonderful and good–whether they show up or not.

<< DAY 18 ~ DAY 20 >>

--

--

Kyle L B Morey

Howdy! I’m a husband to a redhead, a father to the fantastic five, and a son of a loving Father in heaven. I’m also the author of #1 Bestseller, Ask God.