10 Random Wikipedia Articles to Escape the News

LaTeisha Moore
1 min readMar 24, 2020

In these times, it’s hard to write. It’s difficult to focus. Simply put, it’s not a good time.

To overcome writer’s block, I reviewed several prompts including one suggesting to use Wikipedia’s Random Article feature to spark ideas. When I click the “random article” link in Wikipedia’s sidebar, I decide it will be more entertaining to show the wild breadth of topics instead. These ten entries appear in order:

  1. Maisach station
  2. 2018–19 CSA 4-Day Franchise Series
  3. Shagun Chowdhary
  4. Gemmotheres
  5. MLS Cup 1998
  6. Instrumentals (Mouse on Mars album)
  7. Blackfoot Mountains
  8. Yalpara Conservation Park
  9. Empire State Development Corporation
  10. Odonatoptera

I can see how a few of those topics might inspire creative writing. Imagine if the constraint was to write a story using 10 random topics!

The quirky range of articles brought a little joy to my night so I gave a small donation. You can donate here.

This post is part of my WriteMarch series, a commitment to write daily for a month.

--

--

LaTeisha Moore

Service design lead at an innovation lab inside of a nonprofit closing the opportunity divide in service of the future of work