Screenshot of coronavirus-inspired six-word memoirs

Six-Word Memoirs, Coping with COVID

LaTeisha Moore
1 min readMar 21, 2020

In my last post, I wrote pandemic-inspired blackout poetry. What was the corona-twist? In the spirit of social distancing, I imposed a rule of using words that were six or more words apart to create the poem.

Searching for inspiration tonight, I recalled the six-word memoir. I found the website devoted to the practice and community of this micro-writing format. The concept originated in November 2006 as a simple online challenge asking: Can you tell your life story in six words?

It turns out, the editor is engaging its community around sharing their lives in the age of the coronavirus. Most of the ones I saw on the homepage and in the comments of the editor’s post are hopeful. Here’s mine:

Worried about restaurants surviving, ordered takeout.

Add your six-word memoir in the comments. I’ll reply with a six-word response.

This post is part of my WriteMarch series, a commitment to write daily for a month.

--

--

LaTeisha Moore

Service design lead at an innovation lab inside of a nonprofit closing the opportunity divide in service of the future of work