Paper person with code in the background displaying “Hello World!”
Photo by KOBU Agency on Unsplash

Social Distancing Is Making Distance Social

19+ Fun Events and Things to Do Virtually Together at Home

LaTeisha Moore

--

I’ve been putting off writing this because I’ve seen a large number of social gatherings online that I wasn’t sure I’d be able to comprehensively catalog.

We may be stuck in our homes, if our jobs and employers allow us the privilege of working from home, but that doesn’t mean we can’t continue to connect with our friends, families, strangers, and communities. I’ll share a few personal examples before I list the broad ranges of activities I’ve seen move online, from dance parties and workouts to movies and museums.

Friends and family: For this bucket, I’ve been mostly traditional using text, call, and video conversations to connect. I do want to try out Netflix Party and other fun ways to engage.

Existing communities: My Within Leadership Circles, Design Dream Labs, Service Design Network NYC Meetup, and other communities have held online group conversations, Hangouts over tea, and a panel discussion on Zoom.

Connections with strangers: I noticed I pushed myself to accept invitations from communities I hadn’t yet connected with. Those opportunities included an official Caveday, a coworking day kicked off by someone I follow on Twitter, and a CMX Community Icebreaker.

Ways People Are Staying Socially Active

Dance parties, music, and workouts

  • Daybreaker: If you missed DJ D-Nice’s star-studded Instagram Live party, The Get Down or or even last Saturday’s first online Daybreaker, there’s the next Daybreaker. I’m sure there are many more dance parties online.
  • Nowadays: This Brooklyn venue is streaming DJ lineups through its website and asking for support of its Patreon and Staff Help Venmo.
  • Conbody: The prison style fitness bootcamp that hires formerly incarcerated individuals to teach fitness classes offers pre-recorded online workout videos ($9/month) and livestream classes ($20/class).
  • Other wellness apps: Peloton is offering a free 90-day trial and various yoga and meditation platforms are doing similar offers.

Art Classes and Strolls

Movie Nights and TV Watching Parties

  • Netflix Party: This Chrome app synchronizes video playback and adds a video chat to turn previously solo Netflix binges into a shared virtual entertainment room. Kast is a similar offering that offers apps for desktop, browser, and mobile.
  • #TheHuntMovieAtHome: See also #TheInvisibleManAtHome. If you wanted to see either Blumhouse film, but were obstructed by the ‘Rona, you can rent the films online and catch what was live tweeted.
  • Alamo Drafthouse: I miss Alamo IRL but can stay connected through the Alamo Winchester Film Club (I only wish it wasn’t through Facebook).

Meetups, conferences, and nerdy events

  • Meetups: In a lot of cases, the organizers are moving events online. One benefit to the virtual Meetups is I can attend events that would have otherwise been hosted in other cities.
  • Conferences: You can check isitcanceledyet.com to see not only conferences that have been canceled but also sports, etc. If you’re in tech, this Google Spreadsheet lists conferences that are free or online.
  • Caveat: Another NYC venue, this one falls under the “nerdy events” category I referenced. They have livestreams of their typical programming, which includes everything from Nerd Nite to comedy shows.
  • RISK!: The live show and podcast is doing its first livestream on March 26, and I imagine will do more after that.
  • CreativeMornings FieldTrips: I’ve been a fan of FieldTrips since they low-key launched to those on monthly CreativeMornings waitlists. Now they’ve brought everything from origami and piñata-making to yoga and breathwork online.

Choirs and karaoke

  • The Sofa Singers: Vocal leader James Sills launched a free and weekly online singing event that’s received some press attention. A quick search shows other choirs have begun to sing online.
  • Twitch Sings: Twitch, in conjunction with Harmonix Music Systems, developed a karaoke game. You can read more at the link.

Weddings, birthdays, and special events

  • 4th floor officiating: When I first saw the video on Twitter, I was moved. A New York couple tied the knot on a Washington Heights street by their friend and licensed marriage officiant, four stories above.
  • Google Hangout surprise party: I hadn’t heard of any birthdays so I had to search for this one.

I could add many more examples but hopefully this inspires you around what’s out there and what you can search for. What else have you seen?

This post is part of my WriteMarch series, a commitment to write daily for a month.

--

--

LaTeisha Moore

Service design lead at an innovation lab inside of a nonprofit closing the opportunity divide in service of the future of work