Happy National Beer Day!

Laura Barrett
2 min readApr 7, 2018

--

Yep, today is definitely a day worth celebrating. Today is National Beer Day for the entire United States of America. So raise a pint and cheers with a friend!

According to an article from USA Today, on this day in 1933, the sale of beer containing less than 3.2% of alcohol was again permitted in the US after a 14 year dry spell thanks to the Prohibition. We can thank good ole Franklin D Roosevelt for getting us out of that one.

This great day has been celebrated ever since. Today, many restaurants and other businesses are celebrating by offering special deals, discounts, and events.

For the Charlotte craft beer enthusiasts, today is the day for Beer Me BrewFest in South End. This event was created to honor National Beer day, because Charlotte is so awesome. The event started at 12:30 pm and will last until 5:30 pm.

The purpose of this event is to allow people to sample local and regional craft beers while experiencing local entertainment, food and other fun activities. Particpants at this event are able to vote on the beer that they believe is the best.

General admission tickets are $25 and VIP tickets are $40. Those with VIP access were eligible to enter the event at 12:30 pm while those with general admission were told to enter at 1:30 pm.

All proceeds from this event will be supporting the Habitat for Humanity of Charlotte. As if we already needed another reason to try some cool beers, the money spent during the event will go to a good cause.

Some featured breweries that are at this event include; Catawba, Southern Tier, Bird Song, Wicked Weed, Big Boss, Ass Clown, and Heist.

For more information about beer events in Charlotte just Google it because I swear Charlotte has beer events going on at least every day.

That’s all I got for today. I wish I could go drink but I have to work on this national holiday.

Keep Pouring!

#LarrysBeerReview

Mock Tweet: Hoppy National Beer Day! Celebrate by attending the Beer Me BrewFest in South End!

Click the link for more info on this legendary day in history: https://medium.com/@laurabarrett_42763/happy-national-beer-day-3932bc3ee936

--

--

Laura Barrett

My name is Laura but my close friends call me Larry. I like beer and I am going to use this space to share my unfiltered opinions about the craft beers I try.