How to Make Your Monday’s Not Suck

Laura Barrett
3 min readFeb 10, 2018

--

It happens every week. You can’t ignore it or avoid it. Yep, I’m talking about Mondays.

Now everyone has a different way to cure their Monday blues but I’m going to share a personal tip that is guaranteed to start your week off great and might even make you like Mondays.

It’s just two words: Mug Monday. Here’s what it means: You head on over to Sycamore Brewing in South End and buy a 24 ounce ceramic mug for $25. Every Monday you get full mug pours at pint prices for all beers over 8%ABV. So about $6 to $6.50. I’m not good at math but it’s basically like getting two beers for the price of one.

Not only do you get a great buzz for a great price, you get to keep the mug! This mug can be used for coffee or other beverages.

An approximate amount of 213 mugs are available to purchase with this years date stamped on it. Previous year’s mugs are accepted but are only 20 ounce pours. So basically, go big or go home.

According to one of the staff members there are going to be Mug Monday T-shirt’s coming soon as another souvenir for this weekly event. As if we needed more incentive to drink beer on a Monday, am I right?

I am going to give you one more piece of advice. If you go, which you should, try the Small Batch Rhubarb Gose. It’s okay I can’t pronounce it either but you can just point at it. This refreshing Gose tastes like a beer mixed with juice, and that is essentially what it is.

Rhubarb is a vegetable that is legally considered a fruit that grows in most of the United States. It has a very tart taste when eaten raw so most people usually consume rhubarb when it is cooked into something. In this case, this hybrid fruit/vegetable has been incorporated in the brewing process to produce a fantastic gose.

Alright now that I have given you TWO pieces of advice when I thought I was only going to give you one, you have to follow at least one of them. And you’re in luck because Monday is only a little over 24 hours away.

So don’t be a negative Nancy this Monday and go to Sycamore with some friends, or by yourself, no one is judging. And as always don’t forget to:

Keep Pouring!

Mock Tweet: Looking for something to cure those contagious Monday blues? Check out my latest post to find out how you can make your Monday’s not suck:

https://medium.com/@laurabarrett_42763/how-to-make-your-mondays-not-suck-514bef4fe9ed

--

--

Laura Barrett

My name is Laura but my close friends call me Larry. I like beer and I am going to use this space to share my unfiltered opinions about the craft beers I try.