浪子回頭 Back Here Again

Linus Kho
3 min readJul 9, 2018

My challenge and contribution to this fascinating song. This is Hokkien lyric pinyi format and a direct English translation. I am sure there are lots of room for improvement, both my pinyi and translation skills. Half of the time I can’t seem to make out the words sang. Please point them out, write me, guide me…

Acknowledgement to this story which I’ve referenced from — https://medium.com/mycodingjourney/eggplantegg-back-here-again-42da280940cf

Hoon jit-ki jit-ki jit-ki leh ti-eam
(Cigarette one stick one stick one stick light up)
Jiu jit-poi jit-poi jit-poi leh ta
(Alcohol one glass one glass one glass dry up)
Chia li ai teh leong wa
(Request your forgiveness to me)
Wa jiu liang boh hor mai ka wa chong kang
(My alcohol tolerance not good don’t mess with me)
Sikan jit-kang jit-kang jit-kang leh chow
(Time one day one day one day ran past)
Ku-waa jit-ti jit-ti jit-ti leh lau
(Sweat one drop one drop one drop drip)

Uuh jit-kang lang long lao
(One day we all are old)
Chu-ah bo kia tau tin
(Bring wife children)
Long zhu hui tau
(All turn back)

Qin-ai eh, koh-ai eh, entau eh, peng-yu
(Lover, cutie, handsome, friend)
Pun-soh eh, bo pen eh, bo yong eh, peng-yu
(Garbage, no class, no use, friend)

Ti kan kew leh tau khi-ah wa leong kong motobalee
(Rough road riding motorcycle)
Wa eh sin chen kana kau-sai
(My mood like dog shit)

Wa bo cii boh bo boh kia kana jit tiao mia
(I no money, no wife, no children, only one life)
Peng-yu aah
(Friend)
Tau tin lai buah
(Fight for comeback)

Hoon jit-ki jit-ki jit-ki leh ti-eam
(Cigarette one stick one stick one stick light up)
Jiu jit-poi jit-poi jit-poi leh ta
(Alcohol one glass one glass one glass dry up)
Chia li ai teh leong wa
(Request your forgiveness to me)
Wa jiu liang boh hor mai ka wa chong kang
(My alcohol tolerance not good don’t mess with me)
Sikan jit-kang jit-kang jit-kang leh chow
(Time one day one day one day ran past)
Ku-waa jit-ti jit-ti jit-ti leh lau
(Sweat one drop one drop one drop drip)

Uuh jit-kang lang long lao
(One day we all are old)
Chu-ah bo kia tau tin
(Bring wife children)
Long zhu hui tau
(All turn back)

Ti kan kew leh tau khi-ah wa leong kong motobalee
(Rough road riding motorcycle)
Wa eh sin chen kana kau-sai
(My mood like dog shit)

Wa bo cii boh bo boh kia kana jit tiao mia
(I no money, no wife, no children, only one life)
Peng-yu aah
(Friend)
Tau tin lai buah
(Fight for comeback)

Hoon jit-ki jit-ki jit-ki leh ti-eam
(Cigarette one stick one stick one stick light up)
Jiu jit-poi jit-poi jit-poi leh ta
(Alcohol one glass one glass one glass dry up)
Chia li ai teh leong wa
(Request your forgiveness to me)
Wa jiu liang boh hor mai ka wa chong kang
(My alcohol tolerance not good don’t mess with me)
Sikan jit-kang jit-kang jit-kang leh chow
(Time one day one day one day ran past)
Ku-waa jit-ti jit-ti jit-ti leh lau
(Sweat one drop one drop one drop drip)

Uuh jit-kang lang long lao
(One day we all are old)
Chu-ah bo kia tau tin
(Bring wife children)
Chu-ah bo kia tau tin
(Bring wife children)
Chu-ah bo kia tau tin
(Bring wife children)

--

--

Linus Kho

Input -> Process -> Output | I make software simple