A life of a cat — Chapter 5: Hah, Ritsip, huh?

Luis Conejo
2 min readMar 2, 2017

--

This is a story my daughter is working on. As such, the following is a direct transcription of her draft for chapter 5. You can find chapter 1 here.

Previous chapter

"Ri-ritsip?" I shrugged. "Ugh, he won the cat award for weirdest name ever", she said. "Pffft… he doesn't even know what root beer is! Haha!". "D-delilah?" I muttered. "Yeah, bud?". "Umm… I-I don't think you should m-make fun of people." "Oh. Sorry then. Heh!" she replied.

I was willing to admit I was hungry, but I just didn't. Also, we were both making eye contact at each other like we'd say "yep, we sure both are hungry!", but we soon looked away. The point was, I had to see if Ritsip lived here.

But I doubted that. "Ritsip could never be here if those kids were nice, mostly because 1. Ritsip is not nice. 2. Because then if he lived here then there'd be no doubt that he would kill us. And 3. Ritsip would give me another scar!" I thought in my head. "Hello?", Delilah said. Ah! I spent too much in my mind that I accidently ignored everything and imagined! Suddenly, the door burst open. We saw an old, light-orange cat. "Mom!" I shouted. "Hi Scout", she said.

Continue to next chapter…

--

--

Luis Conejo

Software developer, traveler, aspiring novelist and short story writer with mixed results :-)