How to become a developer? || Why you should NOT become?

Mammadowr
3 min readOct 2, 2022

--

This article is kind of “conversation article”. I will share with you my opinions and experience.

Before we start, if you did not check yet, check my other articles:

If you are ready, let’s start. 🥳

If you are just in the beginning of programming, let me tell you this; Do not stop yourself and do not let anything to stop you going until the end of it. Well, yes, programming is not static ‘job’ but it is dynamic. Because, you need to learn something almost everyday. You need to know how to search and where to find solution for your problem.

  1. Set your goal and know what you want to do
    This will be your first step. Check different programming languages, give yourself a bit of time and see at the end what makes you feeling happy and comfortable. Try Java, try frontend, try backend, try mobile development and etc. We can make this list almost eternal, but at the end, find the best place for yourself. Do you like iOS ecosystem? Then learn Swift! Later on you can add to your knowledge base the SwiftUI. My advise would be, do not avoid Objective-C, because it is still strong and useable! ;)
  2. Use every possible resources to improve your skills
    If you want to learn something, I strongly advise you not to be afraid and go with self-study. There are a lot of free resources that you can benefit from them.
    Of course, there are a lot of courses which will cost you around $2–3K per month. But, from my point of view, if you cannot ‘stress’ yourself by searching and reading by yourself, then programming may not be a good career path for you. By the way, I do not consider coding as a career path, it is kind of a lifestyle. From my own experience, there were days that I kept working on the problem and did not even notice how time passes. If you are looking at programming like 9–5 job, you will probably not give all of your heart to it.
  3. Why you should not be a programmer?
    I have already mentioned couple of reasons in this article, but the last one, I will give you as an ‘dialogue’.
    Two people are talking:
    - Why would you like to become a programmer?
    + Because it is on high demand and it pays really well!
    - Then, why do not you become a doctor?
    + It is hard!
    So, if you feel yourself like second person in this dialogue, then you definitely should not be a programmer!

At the end, I would like to close this article with Daddy Steve’s famous quote:

“Everyone should know how to program a computer, because it teaches you how to think.”

Basically that is all from my side. If you like my articles, if you think that they are useful, you can click on “Follow” button and share articles to reach more people. :)

--

--

Mammadowr

I speak 6 human and 5 programming languages. 🥳  iOS Developer. To support me: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/mammadowr8 ☕️