queer indie and self-published books to read during pride month ; part one

Margherita Reads
5 min readMay 28, 2023

It’s the end of May, which means Pride Month is quickly approaching and because of this many creators are sharing queer book lists. Don’t get me wrong, I always love and appreciate people sharing queer books, but I have to admit that it upsets me a little that most people only share a few books, and it’s always the same popular (and traditionally published) ones.

The indie and self-published community offers a great range of identities and diversification that you often can’t find in traditionally published books, but because of people’s prejudice against these books, or because of their laziness in trying to find them, indie books often go unnoticed.

So here I am, asking you to consider indie and self-published books for your reading during Pride Month (and every other month of the year).

Brace yourself, because I’m about to give you a long list of books, divided by identities.

disclaimer: sharing the link to this article, or my posts on social media is okay, but reposting my slides without asking and without giving credits is not allowed.

I hope you were able to find something that caught your attention and that you’ll consider trying out at least a few of these amazing indie and self-published books.

Support indie and self-published books and authors!

Check out the next part of this list here.

GLOSSARY:

sapphic: term to describe non-men who are attracted to other non-men (basically wlw but inclusive of nonbinary and gender nonconforming people as well)

achillean: basically mlm but inclusive of nonbinary and gender nonconforming people as well

t4t: when both people in the relationship are trans (or under the trans umbrella)

m/f: when it’s a relationship between a man and a woman

― ❀ ― ❀ ― ❀ ― ❀ ― ❀ ― ❀ ― ❀ ― ❀ ―

Check out the GoFundMe to help my uncle with his flooded house!

Follow me on social media: instagram | twitter | tiktok |

You can also read my reviews on: goodreads | thestorygraph

You can support me on Ko-Fi.

--

--

Margherita Reads

Pan ace and nonbinary 🏳️‍⚧️🏳️‍🌈 Italian reader and indie author 🇮🇹 7.8k followers on tiktok | 4.3k followers on instagram