Glass pane at the place where I wrote this. Reminded me of the sweat.

First week at the gym.

MarcoV
7 min readJul 22, 2024

--

What to do if you are starting at the gym and do not know where to start.

This is actually not my first week at the gym. But it is. You see, this is my fourth… first week at the gym. More context to today’s story can be found in A gym plan. The following week. One of my previous articles. But in short I changed gyms and in-between gyms 2 months passed. I attribute to this being not actually my first first time at a gym, the reason why it was so satisfying. So in today’s story I will relate how this “first week at the gym” went for me, hoping it may help you and anyone just starting at the gym for their actual first time. So without further introduction.

Part 0 Chose your gym.

This might be easy for you. Maybe you only have one very convenient option, but Before you can start your fitness journey, and your gym journey you need to find your gym.

This one was sketchy for me. So much so that at the end I didn’t sign to a “gymnasium” per se. No, I ended up joining a “fitness club” we’ll see the implications of that later. For this article I’ll refer to it as the gym because that’s what it is despite the fancy title.

I explained why my previous gym stopped being suitable in that other story I mentioned, but in short wasn’t convenient for traffic, and they raised the price. I looked online and found only three gyms in the area around my job (that way I can skip traffic while commuting) We’ll see if that worked out later. Evaluate every option and decide what’s best for you, and go visit and talk to people see the facility and ask for information. After that.

Part 1 Sign to the gym.

I believe that at a proper gym. You should not sing anything. You show up. Pay and enjoy. Well not for this fitness club. I had to wait like a month before I could show up and enjoy. It was so hard. The “special” plan I opted for, in order to pay a better price, which was a benefit offered to my workplace, was only usable if you paid with a credit card, which I didn’t have. So I got to get one.

Good I guess, an excuse to start building the credit score. Except I was not able to get a credit card of my own cause I changed jobs back in April and the banks said nope. I got an additional card from one of my parent’s credit line. This still helps to build the credit score. Not as much as getting your own credit, but better a bit than nothing, right?

Also this month, prior to my first day. I showed up (with gym clothes in my backpack) like three times in which I learned all of these restrictions I’m telling you. It has to be a credit card, your credit card, had to show my work badge… needless to say I got annoyed by this. But the worst thing was yet to come.

Part 2. Getting ready for your first day.

Before enjoying, you can’t just show up and not know what to do. Nonono horrible-awkward feeling. I would never recommend doing that.

I’m talking about the gym yes, but I’d argue this works for lots of things in life.

That’s why I recommend to you this amazing video from Trainer Winny, a great fitness YouTuber. If you are starting you don’t know exercises and movements yet so that’s why an already made program of fundamental exercises like the one Winny builds for you on that video is perfect.

I used the program from trainer Winny but instead of day A and B. I split the original two day program as it is, in three days A, B and C. This I did so that each day gets shorter and not to spend so much time at the gym and get caught up in traffic.

Part 3. Day A.

You should get excited or worried, either case know that this might just be the start of a very positive change in your life.

For my first day… wink wink. I showed up and found out that one bad thing I said. I had to sign, not just join. I signed a contract. For a year. Am I an athlete or an pop-artist? I was shocked. Probably if not by the fact that I was very ready to join, and would not go through all that hustle of getting the credit card and the humiliation of showing up yet another time with my clothes on the backpack and not being able to work out again. I wouldn’t have done it. But what if I change jobs? What if the gym is not a good fit for me? Well this fitness club doesn’t have the option to have a free or low cost trial period. None.

So I signed. Twelve months. Talking with people about this, they made me see the obvious. This is probably a good thing. The commitment and inspiration I’ll get to go to that gym is something unmatched. Economically unmatched. I learnt later that, well… that’s how lots of gyms earn good money, maybe predatory techniques but it can be seen as a win-win. But yeah I mean, I love convenience and a good gym is convenient like that.

Here is the workout for the day:

  • Bench press 3 sets 10 reps
  • Inclined bench press 3 sets 10 reps
  • Overhead press 3 sets 10 reps

I started using very little weight. Not going to the gym for two months has its costs. And I want to do lots of progressive overload and get used to always do proper form.

After the gym session I had to see if finally the traffic situation was better. To my surprise there was traffic at this time, but, to my joy it was slightly less traffic. I didn’t spend an hour commuting as I usually do right after work. In the end, this first day was good but not great.

Part 4. Day B.

The DOMS were bad, I had a day to rest but my chest and shoulder were very sore for almost three days. DOMS stands for Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness, and if you are starting at the gym this is your best new friend. Read and read well, if you want to go to the gym, if you truly want to go to the gym be prepared to destroy your body. Internalise the thought that you are going to that place, to destroy your body. Well DOMS is a constant reminder of that.

The day b workout looks like this:

  • Squat 4 sets 8 reps
  • Chin ups 3 sets 10 reps
  • Row 3 sets 10 reps

I haven’t talked about warm up and variations. These are important, very important. You cannot underestimate the importance of warming up. Warming up might not seem suitable especially for me as I want to save time. But warming up is not a complicated and tedious process. You literally have to just get your body warm. Move and move your arms and legs a lot to get them warm and to get blood pumping to that joint in your body.

And variations are little changes applied to the same exercise. For example on day A, the chest exercises were made with a barbell and the shoulder exercise was made with dumbbells. You can change that, and that would be a variation. For day B, at this gym I saw a very cool machine that allows me to do a very useful variation. The chin ups were actually assisted chin ups. That needed to be that way because without assistance I can only do at most 5 reps of this exercise.

This day as well I used a stretching rack I saw last time. That thing is game changing bro. I know stretching is important, it is like a whole world of physical health on its own. That rack was something I’ve never seen before and using it gave me an amazing stretch. You should stretch after your resistance training because you want firm and solid muscles and tendons for the weight.

That day had been a rough one. You know those gray unmotivated boring days. Pretty meh. But after my work out. Putting one foot on the street, I saw the world with different eyes. And this is what it’s all about with the gym for me. You just feel alive. This one was a great workout.

Part 5. Day C.

Day C was a Saturday and originally I didn’t know if I wanted to go. It was the same route I use every morning to go to work so I am not particularly in love with that route. I thought that my first week was going to be only two days, but on Saturday I woke up early, did my things and had the time to go. Bro Saturday, day C was glorious. I got there and the route to work was unrecognisable I was in such a great mood. Listening to music, great weather, all that was missing was my girlfriend, she would have made it more than perfect. Going with her to the gym is a dream I have yet to accomplish. So I got there and the gym was not so full. Glorious.

Day C workout is:

  • Deadlift 4 sets 8 reps
  • Bicep curl 4 sets 10 reps

It was fast. And it being a lazy Saturday I decided to go do some cardio on the stationary bike and to stretch well for like 15 minutes.

That Saturday at the gym I can feel I felt great. Went to a cafe and started writing this article. Today is Sunday, it’s been a long article and a long week full of great things at the gym and in life. Hopefully someone reads it through hahahaha. As always thank you if you did.

I know this coming week will be as amazing. Hopefully we can all grow.

--

--