M2M Day 100: Is there something more I can do? (Plus, celebrating my 100th post!)

Max Deutsch
2 min readFeb 9, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For February, my goal is to land a backflip.

Yesterday, I went to my second backflip lesson, and the results weren’t very good. In fact, the results were much worst than those from my first session.

Since the lessons were four days apart, it’s not so surprising that my body forgot what it learned, but it’s certainly troubling: If I keep forgetting what I learn from session-to-session, it’s going to be very challenging to make progress.

As a result, I need to explore ways to sustain the muscle memory, even when I’m not at the gym. Tomorrow, I’ll have more time to explore some ideas like 1) Deconstructed movements, 2) Visualization, 3) Targeted exercises, and a few others.

Until then, I want to forget about backflips, and instead, celebrate a tiny milestone: Today is the 100th day of my year-long accelerated learning project, Month to Master, which means today’s blog post also marks the 100th consecutive daily post.

To celebrate, I thought I’d quickly compile a few statistics…

Over the past 100 days, I’ve written 47,042 words (or 61% of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, the book), and also produced 85 minutes of accompanying video content (56% of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, the movie).

This amounts to about 470 words per day (the equivalent of one single-spaced letter-sized page), and, on average, 22 minutes of daily writing time.

To compile these stats, I had to go back through all my previous posts, and I must say… I’m really happy I’m documenting this project. Each post transported me back to the particular day it was written, and I was able to vividly relive the day’s emotion, thoughts, progress, frustrations, triumphs, etc.

While this blog is largely about sharing my project with a larger audience, today I was able to fully appreciated how personally meaningful these posts are as well.

With this newly-found appreciation, I’m fully prepared for another 265 days of monthly mastering and blogging.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--