M2M Day 99: I went to my second lesson today, and my backflip definitely got worse

Max Deutsch
1 min readFeb 8, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For February, my goal is to land a backflip.

Today, I woke up, and my body was no longer sore from last Friday’s lesson, so I was optimistic about today’s trip to AcroSport.

However, today’s lesson didn’t go exactly how I was hoping it would: From my first flip to my last flip, I had a crazy bias to my right.

In other words, every time I threw a backflip, I landed about two feet to the right of where I started. This is not good.

If anything, even though they were bad backflips, they were still backflips, so I did get a good workout, which counts for something.

On Friday, the gym will be much less crowded, so I’ll be able to redo the drills from Lesson 1 and reintroduce the correct muscle memory.

Today, the gym was packed and much of the equipment was unavailable, so I spent the entire time in the foam pit (rather than working through a progression).

I’m excited to get back to AcroSports on Friday and redeem myself.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--