M2M Day 11: Ahead of schedule?

Max Deutsch
2 min readNov 11, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For November, my goal is to memorize the order of a shuffled deck of cards in less than 2 minutes.

Based on my plan from Day 5, I should be able to memorize a deck of cards successfully at a rate of 5 groups per minute, which equates to 20 BPM on the metronome, or a 3:30 memorization time, which is nearly twice as fast as my memorization attempt from Day 4.

While this was a reasonable plan, I’ve sort of abandoned it. Instead, I’ve been practicing at faster metronome speeds (24–28 BPM), with worse recall. The hope is to remove the metronome in a few days, and still maintain the faster pace (but with better recall).

My hypothesis is that the metronome itself is very distracting, forcing me to use way more energy than I need during memorization. As a result, once I remove the metronome, my recall will improve.

Not sure if this is true, but I’ll find out in the next few days.

In the meantime, here’s my practice log from yesterday…

Yesterday’s practice log:

Attempt 1:

52 cards. Metronome at 20 BPM. 5 GPM = 3:30 memorization.

Recalled 49 /52 cards correctly. Recall from single deck

Attempt 2:

26 cards. Metronome at 24 BPM. 6 GPM.

Recalled 22 /26 cards correctly. Recall from single deck

Attempt 3:

52 cards. Metronome at 24 BPM. 6 GPM = 3-minute memorization.

Recalled 29 /52 cards correctly. Recall from single deck

Attempt 4:

52 cards. Metronome at 24 BPM. 6 GPM = 3-minute memorization.

Recalled 35/52 cards correctly. Recall from single deck

Attempt 5:

52 cards. Metronome at 24 BPM. 6 GPM = 3-minute memorization.

Recalled 39/52 cards correctly. Recall from single deck

Attempt 6:

52 cards. Metronome at 24 BPM. 6 GPM = 3-minute memorization.

Recalled 48/52 cards correctly. Recall from single deck

Attempt 7:

52 cards. Metronome at 28 BPM. 7 GPM = 2:30-minute memorization.

Recalled 40/52 cards correctly. Recall from single deck

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--