M2M Day 12: No more metronome stress

Max Deutsch
1 min readNov 13, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For November, my goal is to memorize the order of a shuffled deck of cards in less than 2 minutes.

I stopped using the metronome today, which has removed a lot of my memorization stress. I can now memorize without constant chirping in my ears.

Yesterday, I hypothesized that, without the metronome, I would perform noticeably better during recall. This turns out to be half true.

When practicing with only half the deck (26 cards), I can easily complete my memorization in 1–1:15 minutes, with perfect recall. Memorizing two half decks in a row, I’m getting times around 2:15–2:30, which would suggest I should be able to memorize a complete deck in around that time.

However, when I try to memorize the full deck at that speed, I can’t seem to remember anything.

I’m going to play around with my recall strategy tonight, and see if that helps.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--