M2M Day 118: It only took me five hours to learn how to backflip?!

Max Deutsch
1 min readFeb 27, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For February, my goal is to land a backflip.

Since February is almost over, it’s time to look back and see just how much time I spent on this month’s challenge.

This time around, the math is pretty straightforward: It took six 45-minute lessons, 20 minutes of a failed Open Gym session, and 15 minutes of Lesson 7 to successfully land a backflip. In other words, I spent 5 hours and 15 minutes explicitly working towards February’s goal.

Of course, if I add in travel time to and from AcroSports, my time invested is closer to 13 hours. Then, if I add in the time I spent watching videos, etc., I would estimate that the total is closer to 16 hours.

Nevertheless, this is significantly less time than the previous three challenges, which is odd because this one felt the most involved (most likely because the type of experience and environment were both very new).

Anyway, for the “official” number, I’m going to stick with ~5 hours as this month’s total.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--