M2M Day 119: I almost went to Open Gym today, but then…

Max Deutsch
2 min readFeb 28, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For February, my goal is to land a backflip.

Now that I’ve landed my first backflip, I need to drill it over and over until it becomes complete muscle memory. To do this, I need to be comfortable training on my own, without the support of a coach.

Thus, I figured I’d attend the Open Gym at AcroSports tonight, and see if I can make progress on my own. Well, at least, this was my plan until about 6pm today…

As I was getting ready for the gym, I wasn’t feeling super confident, and so, I decided to pass on the Open Gym for a “strategic” reason, which goes as follows:

Tomorrow is the last day of February. This means that tomorrow is my last chance (with the coaching of Elijah) to nail a beautiful backflip as part of the Month to Master project. To successfully do this, I need to be in a really positive mental state. If I go to Open Gym tonight, and spook myself even more than I did last Friday, I may not be able to fully benefit from my final lesson tomorrow night. Thus, I’ll hold off until tomorrow’s lesson, after which I’ll go to Open Gym as regularly as I need.

This seems sensible enough. It’s probably half excuse, half strategy, which is sometimes okay.

Since I’ve already completed the backflip challenge, I’m giving myself a little wiggle room.

But, since I’m bailing tonight, I really need to commit all my willpower reserves to throwing a bunch of fearless backflips tomorrow.

I feel like I got it…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--