M2M Day 21: I’m rewiring my brain

Max Deutsch
1 min readNov 21, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For November, my goal is to memorize the order of a shuffled deck of cards in less than 2 minutes.

Something weird is happening to my brain.

Yesterday, I saw someone in a wheelchair, and instantly, without conscious thought, the Eight of Diamonds popped into my head. (The Eight of Diamonds has the PAO object of a wheelchair)

Today, my sister was telling a story about tap dancing, and the Queen of Diamonds popped into my head, again without conscious thought. (The Queen of Diamonds has the PAO action of tap dancing)

Over the past week, other unintentional associations have also filled my brain. I guess, even when I’m not in card mode, my brain still wants to make associations between real-life things and cards.

Pretty weird.

As I wire up my brain to make these associations, I wonder what other associations I’m unwiring. Hope it’s nothing important…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--