M2M Day 22: One mistake away!

Max Deutsch
1 min readNov 22, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For November, my goal is to memorize the order of a shuffled deck of cards in less than 2 minutes.

I thought I was going to complete November’s challenge today. Especially after memorizing the deck in 1:50.

Instead, I switched two cards, correctly recalling 50 out of the 52.

Memorization starts at 0:22. Memorization finishes and recall starts at 2:12. Recall finishes and checking starts at 10:25.

Where things went wrong

I memorized everything correctly, and then leveled myself during recall.

I was stuck wondering if the fourth image was David Copperfield waving the American flag upside down or David Copperfield upside down waving the American flag. The first option isn’t something I’d ever actually memorize, but somehow I convinced myself that, in this case, while memorizing, I decided to make an exception. I was wrong.

I’ll get it next time.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--