M2M Day 233: A day of casual training and (mostly) backwards progress

Max Deutsch
2 min readJun 22, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For June, my goal is to develop perfect pitch.

I didn’t have much time to practice today.

This morning, I woke up, launched the ‘Month to Master’ app, and then went out for the rest of the day.

Throughout the day, I tried to sneak in a few quick practice sessions, but I couldn’t get into the rhythm: My accuracy was around 50% at best.

I’m not sure if I was rushing or preoccupied, but my brain wasn’t cooperating. Perhaps, I just underestimated the difference in difficulty level between 10 notes and 11 notes…

Right before I sat down to write this post and admit defeat, I decided to try one more time.

With full concentration and a deliberate pace, I was able to successfully identify 87% of the notes (an improvement over yesterday’s 80% average).

Clearly, if I want to push my perfect pitch skills forward, I need to treat my training less like a casual game. If I’m not fully focused on the task (and instead just going through the motions), I’m essentially wasting my time.

Hopefully, tomorrow, I’ll find some dedicated time for fully focused training.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--