M2M Day 234: Brain humming?!

Max Deutsch
2 min readJun 23, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For June, my goal is to develop perfect pitch.

Yesterday, I rushed through my practice, mostly just going through the motions. My poor performance reflected this.

Today, I had plenty of time to take an unrushed, thoughtful approach to my training, and it definitely paid off.

After warming up, I started my first 100-note session (across 11 out of the 12 notes), and scored my personal best of 95%.

This 95% performance was slightly aided though: After each note played, I softly hummed the resolve back to C, which allowed me to easily maintain my reference frame throughout the entire session.

Last week, I made the decision to stop humming as part of my practice, as I figured this crutch would prevent my brain from fully absorbing the lessons.

However, today, I found out that this wasn’t exactly the right conclusion/decision: Humming the resolves as part of my training actually helps my brain more quickly learn to hear notes within an unwavering context.

After training with humming for a while, I was able to comfortably transition to ‘humming’ in my head (i.e. not out loud). And then, I was able to stop consciously ‘brain humming’ all together, instead allowing my brain to naturally understand the notes in the correct context.

At the end of this hum-based progression, I was able to score 90% on another 100-note session without any audible humming or extra mental support.

I plan to use this humming progression as my warm-up every day for the rest of the month, which I think will really help me.

Yesterday, I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to progress past eleven notes this month, so I’m glad I let myself experiment a bit today: I see a path forward, with the humming progression as an important part of it.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--