M2M Day 235: I’m concentrating so hard that it’s putting me to sleep

Max Deutsch
2 min readJun 24, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For June, my goal is to develop perfect pitch.

Yesterday, I discovered the humming progression (a better way to train), which works as follows:

  1. During the first session of the day, after each note, audibly hum the resolve back to C.
  2. During the second session of the day, after each note, mentally ‘hum’ the resolve back to C.
  3. During the third session of the day, after each note, pause, allowing the brain to subconsciously resolve back to C.

As I mentioned yesterday, this is how I plan to train for the rest of the month (or at least for the next few days).

Today, during the first phase of the humming progression, I correctly identified 92% of the notes. Interestingly, the eight notes I missed were all in the last 30 notes of the session.

In other words, I correctly identified the first 70 notes in a row, before I started to fatigue. But, once I started to fatigue, I just couldn’t maintain the necessary level of concentration.

In fact, because Phase 1 of the humming progression requires a particularly deliberate approach, this first 100-note session took me about 20 minutes to complete. Maintaining complete concentration and intensity for 20 straight minutes turns out to be very mentally taxing.

By the end, I basically just wanted to go to sleep. (Side note: Last week, when I was in California practicing during my morning commutes, my training did put me to sleep a few times).

Hopefully, this desire to sleep at the end of each training session is a sign that I’m optimally engaging my brain in the training.

Or, maybe it just means that I’m tired. (To be fair… I practiced my perfect pitch today immediately after I got home from a 21-mile bike ride, so my body already wanted to relax.)

Either way, if I keep dedicating ~30 minutes daily to this kind of intense practice for the next week, I should be able to complete this month’s challenge before the month ends. It’s going to be close.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--