M2M Day 241: The insane outer limits of perfect pitch

Max Deutsch
1 min readJun 30, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For June, my goal is to develop perfect pitch.

This month, I acquired some lightweight form of perfect pitch, but have only scratched the surface in terms of what’s possible.

In fact, there’s a whole range of skills that fall under the perfect pitch umbrella that I didn’t touch at all: Identifying two notes at a time, three notes at a time, ten notes at a time, etc.; singing notes on command; instantly identifying the key of a song; and so on.

My favorite demonstrations of these kinds of perfect pitch skills are performed by 9-year-old Dylan Biato, who has been trained by musician dad Rick Biato since birth.

Here’s just one of his many perfect pitch videos…

Clearly, I have a long way to go to be at Dylan’s level, but I’m certainly motivated by his abilities. After all, like Dylan (and everyone else), I also have a human brain (which can’t be that different to Dylan’s).

In other words, when I see someone like Dylan who is masterful at his/her craft, it isn’t a reminder of my deficiencies, but a reminder of my potential.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--