M2M Day 25: What now?

Max Deutsch
1 min readNov 26, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For November, my goal is to memorize the order of a shuffled deck of cards in less than 2 minutes.

Yesterday, I announced that I successfully completed November’s challenge, which is exciting, but doesn’t mean I’m done memorizing cards.

In fact, even though I’ve eclipsed Grand Master speed, I’m still quite far away from the world record time set by Alex Mullen, a medical student at the University of Mississippi. Alex memorized a deck of cards, during the USA Memory Championship, in 18.653 seconds. It took him about two years of practice to get to this speed.

I’m hoping that if I continue practicing a few minutes every day, I can dramatically drop my time, and get closer to this pace.

Over the next few days, I’m going to work out my long-term practice plan and interim milestones.

18 seconds seems impossible, but so did 2 minutes, so we’ll see what happens…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--