M2M Day 26: I went trapezing (which might answer a few questions)

Max Deutsch
1 min readNov 27, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For November, my goal is to memorize the order of a shuffled deck of cards in less than 2 minutes.

The most common question I received about November’s Speed Cards challenge is “Why?”, which is a good question, considering Speed Cards really doesn’t have any practical application outside of a memory competition.

Hopefully, I can explain why I was drawn to the oddly-niche pursuit of memory grandmastership by revealing something about where I come from (a.k.a. something about my family and my upbringing).

Over this Thanksgiving weekend, my extended family (16 of us) decided it would be fun to take a trapezing lesson. Because, you know…why not?

Here’s one of my attempts. Not the most graceful…

And this basically sums up everything you need to know about my upbringing.

Put in perspective, Speed Cards is starting to look like a pretty useful skill…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--