M2M Day 29: Speed Cards in 59 seconds

Max Deutsch
2 min readNov 29, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For November, my goal is to memorize the order of a shuffled deck of cards in less than 2 minutes.

I completed November’s challenge five days ago, and without a concrete goal looming over my head, it’s a lot harder to motivate practicing.

After all, memorizing cards requires significant brainpower and focus, both of which are limited resources now being applied to my next challenges.

So, the only way I will continue to improve as a memory grandmaster is to set another ambitious goal: By March 1, I will memorize a deck of cards in less than 1 minute.

In other words, I’m giving myself three months to cut my Speed Cards time in half. I think this is doable, even though I’ll probably only have around 10 minute per day to practice.

If I don’t set this kind of goal, my card memorization muscles will atrophy, and all of November’s progress will be erased. At a minimum, I want to sustain my current skills.

So, there it is. With a new public goal and a new definition of success, I regain the accountability to keep up my training.

Now, I just need to figure out when I’ll actually have the time to practice…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--