M2M Day 30: This has been a great month (plus, a book recommendation)

Max Deutsch
2 min readDec 1, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For November, my goal is to memorize the order of a shuffled deck of cards in less than 2 minutes.

I was originally inspired to begin the Month to Master project after reading the book The Happiness of Pursuit, in which the author, Chris Guillebeau, recounts his 10-year pursuit to visit every country in the world. Through his story, and the stories of many other fascinating pursuits, Chris shares how these kinds of quests can shape and bring purpose to the quester’s life.

While I didn’t feel like I was lacking purpose in my life, after reading the book, I was certainly inspired to embark on a quest of my own. In fact, I’ve been dreaming about starting a project like Month to Master for the past couple of years, but was convinced that I could only complete this kind of project “once I had more time”, whether that meant starting a lifestyle business, quitting my job, retiring some day, etc.

Reading this book changed my mind. Instead of waiting for some unknown moment in the future, I decided I was just going to start the project immediately and make it work.

I’m glad I did.

With an overarching pursuit, the past 30 days have been oddly meaningful. I guess there’s something that just feels so good about committing to a goal and aggressively progressing.

But it goes beyond that. Once I had the momentum from my challenge, I also started picking up momentum in other areas of my life: I started working out harder, accomplishing noticeably more at work, and spending higher quality time with my family, friends, and girlfriend.

It’s been seriously great.

And it’s all because I spent 45 minutes each day memorizing a few decks of cards. Who would have guessed…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--