M2M Day 37: This is actually going to work

Max Deutsch
2 min readDec 8, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For December, my goal is to draw a realistic self-portrait with only pencil and paper.

Today, like yesterday, I continued adding tonal values to the portrait. I spent a little less than two hours, and am getting really excited about the results.

Here’s where I stopped yesterday.

I proceeded today by first addressing the nose.

Then, I addressed the right half of the face — further developing the shadow.

Next, I moved on to Derren’s hair and beard.

Since the demo portrait in course is based on a long-haired female model, I had to do a bit more freestyling at this point. I think it works.

I continued with the upper part of the beard, and finished up for the day.

Tomorrow, I need to finish the mouth, the ear, the neck, the lower part of the beard, and perhaps the clothing.

Getting close…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--