M2M Day 38: Finishing my first portrait

Max Deutsch
2 min readDec 9, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For December, my goal is to draw a realistic self-portrait with only pencil and paper.

Today, after another 2.5 hours of work, I finally completed my Derren Brown portrait.

In the coming days, I will write a few detailed posts about what I’ve learned, how I plan to move forward, etc., but for now, I’ll just share the final photos of my progress.

Today’s progress

I started off by detailing the lips.

Then, I added the mustache.

With this facial hair momentum, I finished off the beard.

Then, the ear.

Finally, I completed the neck, decided not to address the clothes, signed it, and I was done.

For my first portrait of the month, I’m quite happy with how it turned out.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--