M2M Day 376: Getting lost in Copenhagen

Max Deutsch
2 min readNov 11, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For October, my goal is to defeat world champion Magnus Carlsen at a game of chess.

Today, I spent most of the day exploring Copenhagen by foot. Although it was quite cold, it was a sunny day and I really enjoyed the city.

However, things didn’t go quite as planned…

I left the hotel this morning with a fully charged phone, but, for some reason, perhaps the cold, my phone immediately died after stepping outside.

Rather than heading back to the hotel, I figured I’d continue on without the crutch of Google Maps. I decided to just wander without a specific plan or direction, and then, at the end of my day, just try to find my way back.

I trusted that I’d figure it out.

There was something freeing about forging my own path and not relying on technology to guide me around. It forced me to be more present and to more fully observe my surroundings.

Interesting, this feeling of forging my own path is very similar to the one I experienced during this month’s chess challenge: I headed off into the unknown without a plan or a guide to follow, and found pleasure in the process of pioneering forward.

I eventually found my way back to the hotel, which I hope is a signal of what’s to come in these last few days of my chess challenge.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--