M2M Day 377: What to do when you’re trapped on an airplane for twelve hours

Max Deutsch
1 min readNov 13, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For October, my goal is to defeat world champion Magnus Carlsen at a game of chess.

I just got off a twelve hour flight from Copenhagen back to San Francisco, so I’m going to keep this post pretty short…

While on the plane, since I had nothing better to do, I played around with my chess algorithm, trying to find ways to optimize it and ultimately finding a way to increase its efficiency by 10x.

In other words, my sloppy code was a large contributor to the slow training process over the past couple of days.

Anyway, with the boost in speed, my model is effectively done training now, and I’ve been using it to analyze and play chess games with promising results.

I’ll share more tomorrow…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--