M2M Day 378: It works!

Max Deutsch
1 min readNov 14, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For October, my goal is to defeat world champion Magnus Carlsen at a game of chess.

Today, I finished the first version of my chess algorithm, allowing me to play a solid game of chess as a human chess computer. The algorithm is ~94% accurate, which may be sufficient.

Here’s a ten-minute video, where I explain the algorithm and use it to analyze a chess game on Chess.com that I recently played:

(Update: This is the game I played against Magnus, which I later revealed)

I’m excited that it works, and curious to see how much farther I can take it.

The next steps would be to determine the chess rating of the algorithm, play some assisted games with it to see how I do, and then, assuming it’s working as expected, see if I can optimize it further (to minimize the amount of required memorization).

It’s looking like Max Chess may actually become a reality…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--