M2M Day 42: Outlining Natalie Portman

Max Deutsch
2 min readDec 13, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For December, my goal is to draw a realistic self-portrait with only pencil and paper.

Yesterday, I practiced triangulating the proportions of a few celebrity heads.

For example, here’s one I did of Natalie Portman.

Today, I practiced triangulating the complete head shape and gauging the level of features.

It took about 45 minutes.

To assess my work, I overlaid the sketch on Natalie.

My Critique

  • The face shape is accurate
  • The level of the features is accurate
  • The angle of the features is accurate
  • The center line curves a little too quickly as it moves up between the eyes
  • The neck shape is inaccurate— I especially misestimated the starting point of the neck on the right side.
  • Above the right eye, the angle of the head/hair is too steep
  • The peak of the head is too steep
  • The angle of the hair above the ear isn’t steep enough

Overall, I’d give the sketch a B-.

Since I was accurate with the face shape and the level of features, if I continued working, I suspect I would develop the face fairly accurately. As a result, I would likely have enough accurate information to gradually correct the major mistakes with the head and hair shape.

Tomorrow, I’ll practice again on a different celebrity.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--