M2M Day 43: Matt Damon’s face

Max Deutsch
2 min readDec 14, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For December, my goal is to draw a realistic self-portrait with only pencil and paper.

Today, I didn’t have too much time to draw. So, I quickly progressed the Matt Damon sketch I started two days ago.

Here’s what I shared on Sunday.

Today, I spent 30 minutes sketching the head shape and feature guides.

Just looking at the sketch, the head shapes seems a little narrow for Matt Damon. But, overlaid on the photo, it seems to match up.

With the exception of the oddly tiny ear, everything else seems to line up well. The head shape, face shape, and hair shape seem accurate. The level of the features and the center line seem accurate. The wing of the nose is a bit too far to the right, but I really just threw that in for fun.

Overall, I’m pretty happy with the outcome — especially since I sketched this fairly quickly. I guess that means I’m improving…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--