Why I decided to leave France and become location independent

Melvyn Mouflin
8 min readFeb 14, 2018

--

11 weeks after coming back from a trip through South America and Eastern Asia, I made the decision to leave France again and go back to Bali.

Back to France

I went back to France recharged: I could rest for 5 weeks, see my friends, have a lot of fun teaching subjects I love and take the time to think about my next move. I could also get my shit in order so I could potentially go back travelling fully prepared this time (I decided to make a world backpacking tour 3 days before departure). The world trip — which objective was to find out what I wanted to do next with my life — had given me even more than I asked. Plus, I had 4 passionate life options to choose from once the classes over with. First: buy out a carpentry — the boring but nicely profitable company I was looking for before the trip but was only available for sale when I got back. Second: create a meaningful business in France with a friend along with a great mission. Third option: accept a job as an international business developper working with a man I admire and could learn a lot from in Bali. Fourth: embrace a challenge that matched my desire to enable people to become location independent so they could be free to embrace a life I was living. A life full of perpetual discovery, mindfulness, passion, travel and well, pure joy.

Autumn in La Rochelle, France

So going back home felt ecstatic. I was stoked. A changed man. Wise, and deeply happy, energetic and mindful, with plenty of options ahead. I felt at peace. At first. Then teaching was done, and week after week, slowly enough that I didn’t really notice it, something went wrong. Happy turned into ok. Then it turned into frustration. Then it turned into feeling stuck again. Not that I dislike my hometown life. Bordeaux is an outstanding city. I loved hanging out with great friends. I loved indulging in croissants and Margaux red wine again, as much as being amazed by reddish autumn leaves. I felt good. But. Deep down I was missing a sense of purpose. I knew it, because that is what the journey had made me realize: if there’s no passion, I can’t function. No passion, no business. So I said no to the carpentry business for good. I felt relieved. Especially when I suspect the universe to try to trick me with forbidden fruit, just to see if I got the life lesson. Then option 3 disappeared because of the eruption of the volcano. I had a purpose in France with option 2, a mission aligned with my values as much as my need to create assets and keep passive incomes. So I was going for it. But I didn’t know the universe would try another trick, and two things happened. A kid asked me innocently: “what would you do if you had 10 million euros on your bank account?”. My subconscience replied faster than I could: “I’d go back traveling the world, then create awesome businesses with great friends.” I was surprised by my own voice, as if it was someone behind me talking. I’ve been lucky enough to make decisions without taking money into the equation for nearly 2 years now, so I had time to be firmly convinced that such a secondary parameter should never influence my life choices. So why the hell am I not going back travelling? That’s odd. But I had a plan and I could always go back travelling later. However, life knows how to ruin your plans, and usually for the greater good.

So? I booked a ticket to Singapore. And I felt alive again.

My less-than-10kg-backpack

What the hell is a digital nomad?

A lot has been said about digital nomads. Solo travelling undoubtedly ranks among the deepest, most intense, self-discovering experience one can live in their lifetime. During my 5-month and 2-continent trip I saw from capital cities to landscapes, I met locals and travellers, spoken 4 languages, tasted incredible food, met unforgettable people, hiked like I never had, surfed with sea turtles and played with sea lions, encountered mysterious creatures, saw 2 world wonders, found lost friends, learned to dive, been victim of bank fraud, participated in a volcano relief effort… Well, most importantly found what I was searching for. I realised the most amazing people I’ve found on my road had a common trait: they were travellers. Backpackers. They were not living the life they had been given, but were embracing a lifestyle they had fully chosen.

By the time you read this, here is what my last 7 months have looked like.

I believe we grow up with a societal dogma that does not always make much sense. Or which simply does not quite fit our core values. Dogma can be defined as living a model others have created for us. Unfortunately we are trapped in this dogma. The movie The Matrix actually enlights this concept in a fascinating way. Whether we like it or not, we are influenced by the social environment we are living in. We wish we were not. We might think we are not, and it might be partially true, but somehow we are significantly influenced by it. When you travel and get access to international education and people, you become aware that other dogmas exist. You then start perceiving life through a different set of paradigms, and realise you are free to create your own model. You grow up in a model, not in the model. That is why I wholeheartedly believe university exchange programs and Working Holiday Visas are among the most powerful tools designed to help new generations be more open-minded, humble as much as self-confident.

Today, I am happy to live my life on my own terms, ones which are more aligned with who I am.

Back to Bali

After 2 days of planes and airports and hotels, here I am, in Ubud, Bali again. And everything is now back into place. Wow. I was astonished. I forgot how magical the vibe was down here. The smiles, the people, the food, the landscapes, the music. From the morning I arrived, it’s been surreal. I went straight to Hubud to meet Steve Munroe again, co-founder of this magical learning center — aka coworking space — and who is responsible for my return. We shared a coffee, then here is how my day went:

I went back to see my great friends Dewa and Putu who run the guest house Andy’s house in central Ubud with all their heart. They offered me their delightful breakfast that I missed so much. I got a motor-bike. 7pm, time for a tuna at Nu Warung, where I used to go for lunch almost everyday. And not because Paul Walker said “I love the tuna here” in Fast & Furious 1. Then I went to Soma to get into the vibes of their sweet improvised live music sessions. Met this incredible half-Korean half-American girl who was having a drink alone. Went to the Elephant restaurant to get one of their amazing desserts. Next day, lunch at Mudra Cafe, met the awesome serial-entrepreneur and artist owner Lin. I recommend you have a coffee or a desert there. Really chill place. Friday. I went to Hubud to get some work done, get the key to my home, meet members and some of the awesome Hubud team. Then a 2-hour Ayurvedic massage followed by a beer with Claude whom I admire and appreciate a lot. He created Bridges fine dining restaurant and several other businesses around Bali. Then dinner at Sage with Jude.

My home in Bali

Well… since my arrival, it’s been pure pleasure. I love everything about Bali. I could go on and on, but I want to dig into the reason of this article. Deciding to go travelling with no plans to go back to Europe is the best decision I have made. Here is why:

The mission of the job

Empowering people to embrace a location-independent lifestyle. One full of perpetual travel, discovery, mindfulness, passion and love. I will explain the mission in a separate article.

The lifestyle

I don’t know for you, but I’ve always considered a lifestyle full of the above to be blissful. Discovering new cultures, understanding the people, being introduced to the hidden places, the food, the locals, the landscapes, the new awesome friends we make along the way, the moments of joy… That sounds like embracing the beauty of life to me. Live a life you really want and make a change if you don’t.

A few delights from Bali

The people

I mentioned the people already, but this is worth mentioning twice. Even more. The people is and always will be what impacts us the most when we travel. They are what we remember and what moves us the most. Most people seek 3 extrinsic goals in life: money, image, status while the 3 intrinsic goals that genuinely make people happy are: close relationships, personal growth and desire to help.

A 67-year long Harvard study confirms and emphasizes the fact that the people who have grown quality relationships tend to live happier, longer, and healthier. Money and fame don’t matter. Sharing and laughing with friends is what makes life worth living.

Part of the CU Asia 2018 team in Penang, Malaysia. Yes, I’m the guy with a backpack at the back.

I feel free. I feel alive. I feel happy. I feel grateful. Thank you mom, I owe this life to you. I love you.

--

--