Lego Build 50 — Vulture

Francisco Duarte
2 min readFeb 27, 2022

--

With this build, we reach the end of Volume Two of my builds. Work on the Volume One pdf continues, but real-life issues have impeded me from finishing that one in a timely manner. But we’ll get there.

To cap this off, I’m sharing one of the builds I’m more proud about — Kristen Redmond’s Vulture. This is a model that is easy to build and does look really cool once completed. Takes around 75 parts. Make one and look at it in real life! Not to brag, but it’s really neat!

Redmond was one of the Clan Jade Falcon baddies in the BattleTech cartoon (yes, it is real). The machine itself is an old OmniMech built for fire support. It has spread among all Clans, being most popular among the Ghost Bears. Some variants display terrifying firepower for something of its weight class, albeit it has trouble managing the heat.

It is a classic within the BattleTech community, having appeared in almost all media about the setting. Its distinctive shape, like many early Clan ‘Mechs, also immediately set it apart from machines within and outside Battletech.

Regarding the cartoon, it is cheesy, like most 1990s shows, but not all that bad. You can see it in its full glory on Renegade HPG’s Youtube channel. They did a great job in remastering the show.

I also have plans to make tributes to the ‘mechs present in the show in the future, as some color schemes are really interesting and lend themselves well to Lego form. I even have a controversial idea for the ride of a certain Batchall-challenged MechWarrior. But that’ll have to wait for the next series.

On that note, I may make a break from Battletech for a few weeks and try some different things for a while. But do not fret, Volume Three will come soon enough and I have some epic ideas for it!

On that note, I also made an article for Magestrix Riley’s fanzine. The Hammerhands model can be found there. Check it out! It’s free and I’m really happy with it.

https://www.patreon.com/posts/magistracy-issue-62957931

On a final note… I do avoid talking about real-world politics here because I think it has little place in this blog. But screw war. Screw invasions. It does hit differently when it is at our doorstep, now does it?

That is all. See you soon.

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine