Lego Build 78 — Locust IIC

Francisco Duarte
2 min readNov 13, 2022

--

Sometimes I like to share scrapbuilds, not only because they add up to the series I’ve been working on for almost two years now, but also because I like to show that even with old and/or leftover parts, anyone can make a good ‘Mech. The IRL Locust IIC that I have was made using whatever leftover parts I had to complete my Jade Falcon force at the time.

In lore this is an interesting machine. Developed from the venerable Locust by Clan Mongoose, it was meant to be a cheap second-line unit. It achieved these goals, but it was also incredibly deadly for its size, making it a peak dueling machine, which was fortunate in a militarized society like the Clanner is. It would suvive centuries of service due to its popularity in the traditional honor duels among warriors.

This model takes 29 parts and is easy to make. The original used even more delapidated parts, but I decided to streamline the build a little given that I had the chance. At the time it represented an effort in trying out different parts to see what shape they would yield, but also some research in the amazing source that Sarna.net is to see what they could relate to. I was surprised by the lore and abilities of the Locust IIC, so I decided to keep it.

Let me know your thoughts! See you next time!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine