Random Build — Enterprise NX-01

Francisco Duarte
2 min readMay 3, 2023

--

After completing the last model I started to tinker with ideas for more Star Trek-based ships. One of my favorites, design-wise, has always been the NX-01 from the TV show Star Trek Enterprise.

Looking sleeker than the original eponymous starship (even though in lore it is much older), the Enterprise NX-01 is just plain awesome. I had to build it.

Evidently that I wouldn’t simply make it in the void, so I proposed myself a challenge. My good friend Eric Nowack, writer and game creator, is developing a Lego starship-themed RPG, EXO-STAR Saga. So, I went on and made the NX-01 using the scale of his game. It turned out much larger than the prior Constitution-class model, but allowed me to add in some more detail. Eric himself, a seasoned Trekkie unlike me, game some some tips that truly added to the final result.

Despite some intricancies, this model shouldn’t be hard to put together. I’d say it reached medium difficulty at worst. It uses 58 parts plus the base. I made sure it would also be a solid model that can handle manipulation well, as I usually do.

It is indeed a nicely shaped ship, with interesting details and should look well on your shelf or game table.

These Star Trek iterations were fun to make. Next time I ought to get back to our usual themes.

If you enjoy my work and want to help me invest in future original works you can give me a tip at my Ko-fi account. I added a shop there where you can get my games and (in the future) original stories.

Have fun!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine