Warship Build 10 — McKenna Battleship

Francisco Duarte
3 min readFeb 2, 2022

--

Today’s a special day — today I’ll bring you the largest build I have ever posted on this blog. 150 parts, 16 steps across 5 pages. The McKenna-class warship is a monster, pretty much like it is in lore.

Conceived as a ship of the line for the SLDF space fleet, for centuries the McKenna remained the epitome of space combat. A massive vessel, a kilometer and half long, it boasts powerful broadsides that can devastate smaller ships. When the legendary General Kerensky lead the exodus from the Inner Sphere, it was his flagship, a McKenna-class named the McKenna’s Pride, that stood at the head of the fleet.

This massive model took me weeks to complete, although the basic idea was on my mind for a while. The general design is based more on Steven Cross’ fan TROs than on the original artwork which is… lacking.

The massive mid-body fins also work to give the model some balance when placed on a base, and the lower one is the connection point. I am unsure about how stable it is, as I have yet to build this in real life. So, if you build this model, let me know if it doesn’t fall over.

Another thing that I bring this week is the revamped Ko-fi page. Given the time that I am dumping into these builds and my wish to expand on my creative endeavors in the future, I’ll be accepting donations. If you enjoy my work and want to give me a coin I would be incredibly thankful.

Another thing that I have not yet posted on the page is that I will be taking pleas for these builds in the future. If you make a donation and ask for a special build to come in the future (within the style I’ve been working on), I will make it happen. If more than one person does so, I will start from the first request and work my way through them in order.

https://ko-fi.com/metastablemachine

Evidently that I am just now starting to work through these ideas. I have ambitions not only to further expand my work on these Lego builds, but also on creating more wargaming and RPG content, and even fiction.

We’ll see how it goes. If you just enjoy looking at these and building them on your own, that’s okay too.

As always, let me know your thoughts.

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine