Get to Know Me Better!

Michaela Hermer
4 min readMar 7, 2018

--

A sneak peak into the life of Michaela Hermer…

Hi there! Welcome to my very first blog post. I am thrilled to start sharing my perspectives on some of the topics dearest to me including marketing, health, travel and beauty — but first, it’s time to give you a better understanding of the voice behind this blog. So without further ado here is a little more about me, Michaela.

Early years

I am a 21-year-old originally born and raised in Whitby, Ontario. I now attend the University of Ottawa and call Michigan my home. I bet you’re probably wondering how this works out? Well, at the young age of 7 years old my adventure began as my father’s automotive career brought my family and I to the United States. After that, I went on to move another 6 times within a span of 10 years, attending 6 different schools in both Canada and the United States. Growing up with two very intelligent and energetic older brothers, I spent my early years emulating their every move. This influence inevitably resulted in my participation in all kinds of sports (pictured below), laying the foundation of my competitive spirit, and my unwavering openness to engage in new and exciting adventures.

When I wasn’t playing competitive sports, I was finding ways to exercise my creativity. In high school, I developed my creative skillset in visual arts through classwork, which sparked my interest in photography, fashion and design. Having the opportunity to assist in managing and designing the clothing line for a school store in Michigan opened my eyes to the excitement of working in a retail environment. Once I recognized that I was able to draw parallels between creative artwork and it’s contribution to the ever-evolving world of business, I knew that a role in the field of Marketing was a great fit for me.

What I’m up to now

Now, I am currently completing my last semester at the Telfer School of Management. Here I have worked towards gaining an Honors business degree with a major in Marketing. Over the past 4 years I have grown my knowledge in all facets of business through coursework, professional experience, and extracurricular involvement. Much like in my adolescent years, I strive to continuously involve myself in exciting learning experiences where I am able to combine art, culture, and science. Below are a few of my greatest experiences throughout my university and professional career:

What the Future Holds

With only two months remaining in my University career I am taking steps to secure a full time job in the Marketing and Advertising industry in the United States. I can be first to admit that going to school in one country and seeking employment in another can be trying at times, but I cannot wait to see what the future holds!

Through this blog, I hope to capture and share who I am, my experiences, and what I am all about. I look forward to providing my perspective on topics including career, health, travel and beauty.

Stay tuned for my next post about creativity and please feel free to reach out to me directly and let me know what YOU are looking to get out of this blog!

All the best and thank you for reading,

Michaela

--

--