Twinkling Light

a poem

Michelle "Marno" Arno
The POM
1 min readJul 21, 2020

--

Photo by Dyu - Ha on Unsplash

A twinkling light shines around me
I search to find its source
It reflects between loved ones joyously
They laugh and I feel its force

But I search and I search and can’t find it
Although it illuminates the air
Just reflections of something much brighter
Among them, the source isn’t there

Perhaps it could be my lover
Who is the origin of the light
We embrace, but again just reflection
Of something glowing and bright

So I stop and reflect on reflections
And out of the corner of my eye
I see the twinkling light in the mirror
And realize it is me, it is I

Response to the Day 21 prompt of Summer of Spilled Words II.

--

--

Michelle "Marno" Arno
The POM

queer lady writing poetry, stories, and whatever gets me in the feels | check out my work at studiomarno.com