Reading Anniversaries: First in a Series & Singles–January Edition

Midu Hadi
5 min readMar 3, 2018

--

2012

I don’t much remember what went on in this book, except there being a plot to replace the Queen with an automaton clone. Must have made an impression on me because I rated it 4 stars on GR. Oh, and the covers in the series are beautiful! I recently and reviewed the second book in this series.

Must Love Hellhounds by Various Authors

GR tells me that I loved most of the stories from this anthology. Must have been a good collection. I remember trying it out because it also included a story by Ilona Andrews — a favorite author couple of mine.

Frostbite by David Wellington

If you don’t yet know that an awesome vampire series by David Wellington’s exists, then you haven’t been paying attention. Like the Laura Caxton series, this one is creepy AF. My GR review tells me I recommend it to:

people who like werewolves without the romance and cheesiness

I loved it and I don’t even like horror much! Here, let my gushing adoration convince you that you need to try Wellington’s books.

Stray by Rachel Vincent

When I first read it, one of the most annoying things about this series was its heroine. She was a whiny, selfish brat who didn’t care about the consequences of her action. One of the best things about it, as I continued to plod along, is how she changed! By the end of the series, the events have transformed her into the alpha her father always knew her to be. If that doesn’t float your boat, maybe stay for all the violence and the gore? Oh, and did I mention that the series is complete? You can binge read it!

The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan

Maybe I have a soft spot for tortured, lonely werewolves or maybe it’s something else. Either way, I just completed this series. While the first had impressed me, the second and third fell short. All I’m saying is that even with the cliffhanger at the end of the first one, it can easily be read as a standalone.

2013

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

I have had much to say about the second book in this series on this blog. All good things, I promise. Therefore, it won’t come as a surprise that I loved the first one, as well! The ending blew me away even when I have become so jaded about last-minute twists that change everything. Check this one out!

He was a Hero, He Shouldn’t have Died by Kenneth Mugi

If you asked me to describe this book in a word, I’d probably say weird. But wait, this is what I said in my review:

I got this book for free, in exchange for an honest review from Making Connections. Get your copy here.

This book is very different from the plethora of Paranormal novels out there- it turns the idea of Dorian Gray’s picture on its head.

What I really liked about it was that the touch of fantasy/paranormal elements didn’t overwhelm Kasumi’s story.

Another thing to like was that if the new edited version had any errors, I couldn’t find them.

There is enough humor to balance the darkness in the story.

I would have liked to see more of Morgan but watching Kasumi grow into her powers would be exciting too.

Hoping that there are some fight scenes in the next book!

This book isn’t for everybody but if you’d like to read something unique, give this one a whirl.

The Gods Among Us by D.C. Belton

An old read, an old review:

The author was kind enough to give me a free review copy.

You know those books that you just don’t wanna put down? Not because there’s something exciting happening in the story or it is a good story…not only that but mostly because the writing flows and the story is being told so smoothly that you just read on and on. This book was such a book.

The parts I loved the most began when Pallas is aboard the ship and meets the crew. Their humor, lightheartedness and loyalty towards each other made them lovable.

I also liked that we’re set up to hate Elena in the beginning of the story but we find out she has more depth and understands political intrigue much better than her younger sisters give her credit for.

Othello, I feared and hated just like I was supposed to. Even when I laughed at his antics, I wasn’t less creeped out by him!

About the gods and their machinations: a) I’m not yet sure if they’re actually deities and not humans who know what opposable thumbs are, b) they just don’t care whose life they ruin, do they? Even Pallas who claims not to believe in gods & goddesses can’t escape their schemes!

Pallas keeps mentioning how her father must miss her and I couldn’t shake the feeling that there’s something wrong there. Poor Pallas!

What would have made the book even better was a little more world building, maybe? Or a map, so we could understand what this world is like even better.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple

Lovely, fun at times and sad at other times, quirky as heck read. I liked it, maybe you would too?

Well, those were my faves from the past years. You can also find reviews of books from 2016, 2017, and 2018 that stuck with me.

Originally published at midureads.wordpress.com on March 3, 2018.

--

--

Midu Hadi

I fell in love with reading at an early age because of my mom. She gifted me Lorna Doone as I started High School. Now, I have my own stories to tell!