Job offer 1 vs. job offer 2

Michelle Rau
5 min readJul 18, 2018

A list of things to consider, should you be in this fortunate position.

Recently I was in the fortunate position of comparing two job offers, both contract positions, two different companies, but with the same client. To help me evaluate the pros and cons of each, I drafted a list of things to think and ask about. Here it is, in case it benefits anyone else in a similar position. (If you are, congratulations!)

Some of the factors in the equation have a dollar value attached. Others don’t, but they still have value. One person might be willing to take less pay for a resume-building opportunity, another person might accept a lower salary along with benefits that better fit their needs. What’s most important to you will depend on your personal and professional values.

Cartoon by Michelle Rau

Pay (hourly rate or salary)

  • How much does the job pay, and is it competitive?
  • Are there annual increases or merit increases?
  • Can the contract be renewed and how often? What’s the timeline / how does it work?
  • Will I be asked to scale back on hours from time to time to control costs? (often called “furlough” like in the military or civil service)
  • Will I be asked to take breaks from working for a certain period of time after working a certain length of time?

Hours

  • Is overtime available? How does it have to be approved?
  • Will I have to work late nights / odd hours?
  • What kind of flexibility is there for vacation dates / doctor appointments / emergencies?

Location

  • Do I like the building / location / facilities? Are they clean, safe, well-lighted, well-maintained?
  • Will I have a reasonable commute?
  • Is there enough parking or will I have to work crazy hours in order to find a spot?
  • Is working from home a possibility at least sometimes?
  • As a contractor will I have access to onsite amenities (gym, cafe, lounge, etc.) or are those reserved for employee use?

Equipment

Cartoon by Michelle Rau
  • Does the company provide a laptop or workstation?
  • If they expect me to use my own system, what kind of software / spyware / applications will they expect to install on it? (This can be anything from a VPN to an Outlook plug-in to conference-calling plugins for a browser.) Do I have a personal system without personal data that I can dedicate to work?
  • What are the rules about work product on personal systems? Can my personal equipment be seized?
  • Will I have a company email address and/or phone number? Do they expect me to use my personal phone for work?

Benefits

  • Do I get paid sick days? Do I get them all up front, or are they accrued? Do I get the minimum required by law or more?
  • Do I get paid time off, such as on company holidays? How many days per year?
  • Medical: What are the actual plan names? Can I keep my PCP with a new plan? How much will it cost? How often are payroll deductions made? Do they have a plan that meets my needs? Will I have to meet a high deductible all over again with a new plan?
  • Dental: can I keep my dentist? (see above)
  • Vision: can I keep my doctor? (see above)
  • When do benefits start? will I have to use COBRA or some other option to fill in a gap, and how much will that cost?

401(k)

Cartoon by Michelle Rau
  • Does the contract company offer one? Through which provider? (ex: Fidelity, Prudential, other 401k provider)
  • How much is the company match?
  • When am I eligible for a company match? Is there a “cliff” or waiting period / conditions to meet?
  • When am I eligible for vesting in the company match? Is there a “cliff”?
  • How much money / time will I lose by starting over with a new investing / vesting schedule?

Employer reputation / client reputation

  • What are others saying on Glassdoor, Vault, other forums?

Duties

  • Do I like the job? Will I enjoy coming to work?
  • Does it leverage my existing skillset? Is it the right amount of “stretch”?
  • Are the job and I a good fit for each other? Is it the right amount of stress / responsibility / exposure?

People

Cartoon by Michelle Rau
  • Do I like the people?
  • How much face to face contact is needed? Do I need to be in the office every day? How introverted / extroverted will I need to be?
  • Who’s my client boss? Who’s my contract agency boss? Are they hands-on or hands-off?
  • Where are my bosses? How often will I meet with them?
  • What can I find out about the culture?
  • Will I be treated respectfully as a contractor or will I be treated as a “red-headed step child,” attitude-wise? (not legal-wise)
  • What kind of on-the-job help or training is available? Will my predecessor train me?

Professional / personal development and/or goals

  • Is there a feedback or performance management mechanism that tells me how well I’m doing? How does it work?
  • Does this job help me achieve what I want to achieve for myself, professionally, personally or for my career?
  • What do I want this job to add to my resume?
  • What work product examples, if any, will I be able to add to my portfolio? What’s the confidentiality expectation?
  • Will I be able to get a recommendation or review when I leave the job
  • What skills can I acquire to stay competitive?
  • Is there a tuition reimbursement program?
  • Is there access to online training and education? How good is it?

Michelle Rau blogs on various topics including midlife fitness in Fit, Fudge Fifty and writes fiction in various genres.

--

--

Michelle Rau

Writer. Editor. Publisher. Gardener. Blogger. Builder. Designer. Cyclist. Artist. Communications professional. Chocoholic.