My Indian Travel:Introduction

Monica Yoo
3 min readMar 14, 2018

--

I have traveled across many countries. My most memorable trip was India.

India is extremely popular among travelers. It has loads to explore unrefined and mysterious ‘India’

A cultural shock hit me like a tsunami during my first trip in 2008.

I had decided I would never return to this country due to all the confusion and chaos. India now has become the country I miss the most from all my travels.

It is a country with a really deadly charm.

Incredible India is a catchphrase by the Indian Tourism Agency.

I wonder if this is a symbol of the country. It builds admiration.

Before unpacking, what is the emerging image that leads?

  1. Yoga, street saints and performers

2. A place that makes you realize the meaning of a full life

3. Lack of infrastructure and dirty streets A place where people cannot live, such as dangerous security

4. High economic growth rate, IT outsourcing as a holy place to see the next generation of powerful scary country

5. Do not ask. I have no idea I just think of Taj Mahal as seen from a textbook.

I had stereotype about India that it would not be dangerous to live and travel

English instructors at university recommended a trip to India. I totally could not understand why he advises to go.

But now that I have visited India three times. I have to go again and try self-reflection.Being a multicultural, multi-racial, multi-religious country is what gives India its unique charm of that cannot be explained but can be only felt.

I want you to look at the changes in India. I want to talk.
Finally in 2008, traveling to Varanasi, India The sculptures that he has taken share the impressive Sadhu murals.

--

--

Monica Yoo

Avid reader | Writer | Traveler | International woman entrepreneur|