I Refuse to Let Medium Dictate How I Should Behave

What does “performing a disproportionate number of interactions” even mean?

Nanie Hurley 🌿
5 min readMar 11, 2024
This is me, trying to think how many interactions are a disproportionate number of interactions… | Photo by Tachina Lee on Unsplash

Medium recently suspended a ton of writers.

I wasn’t one of them, but I know several writers who got suspended. My notifications were filled with “deleted user responded to,” and I had a negative (and bright red) number of new followers for the month. It was a sad sight!

Several of them have been reinstated now, but that doesn’t mean things are back to normal; they aren’t. As Wesley van Peer put very well in his article, it feels like people are being punished for being active on the platform.

R C Hammond is a very active community member; he often reads my articles and leaves the most thoughtful comments. It’s not automated; it’s not even a simple “thanks for sharing”. They’re proper comments related to what I wrote (the most precious reward for writers). He’s also very active in writing against the use of AI and how important it is to value human writing. Imagine my surprise when I found out he was one of the writers suspended in the March sweep by Medium (he wrote about it here). What stood out from his post was the email from Medium about his suspension. One of the reasons for an account to be suspended is:

“Performing a…

--

--

Nanie Hurley 🌿

Bookworm, gamer, mom, writer, vegan, and human. I write about things that bring me joy. Top Writer in Books & Sustainability.